Jackie Brenneman and NATO’s Esther Baruch to receive Ken Mason 2022 Inter-Community Award

Images courtesy of NATO

Jackie Brenneman, executive vice president and chief adviser to the National Association of Theater Owners (NATO), and Esther Baruch, former director of relations with NATO government agencies, have been named winners of the 2022 Ken Mason Prize. Tuesday (February 15).

The Ken Mason Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding long-term contributions to the overall improvement of the film. Brennan and Baruch will receive the award at a ceremony to be held on Tuesday, February 22, at the ICTA Seminar Series LA at Universal Hilton in Los Angeles.

“Jackie and Esther have long been respected for their work on behalf of the cinema,” said Mark Collins, president of the Inter-Society for the Advancement of Cinema, which awards the prize each year. “But their work on behalf of theater owners fighting for the preservation of business during the pandemic was something extraordinary. Without their work, the theater industry we know would no longer exist. ”

In the summer of 2020, Brennan and Baruch identified potential funding for the pandemic in the Save Our Stages Act, formed a coalition with the National Independent Association of Sites, provided additional funding to cover cinemas, lobbied Congress, rallied theater owners and supporters through Gaul. the passage of $ 16 billion in federal grants through the Closed Site Operators Grant Program (SVOG) in December.

Following the acceptance of the SVOG grants, Brenemann and Baruch worked closely with the Small Business Administration (SBA) to ensure a process that was fair and workable. They continued to lobby politicians to put pressure on the SBA to speed up the process and fairly evaluate grant applications amid bureaucratic misunderstandings and delays. Grants have been processed and funded since June 2021.

Throughout the process, Brenemann and Baruch trained theater owners and assisted in grant applications and appeals, as well as fiercely lobbied the SBA to adhere to the spirit and letter of grant legislation. Thanks in part to their efforts, 1,645 cinemas have received $ 2.47 billion in grants to date.

Brenneman joined NATO in October 2014 from the law firm Foley Lardner LLP as a technology relations manager in the field of technology. As part of her responsibilities in the organization, she also held the position of Executive Director of Inter-Society.

Baruch has been with NATO since March 2014, when she served as Public Relations Liaison Officer, overseeing NATO’s lobbying efforts. She left the organization in September to move to Italy.

“Jackie and Esther have always been valuable and respected members of the NATO team in their roles,” said NATO President and CEO John Fitian in a statement. “But there is no usual job description that would include what they have done over the last year and a half. They, frankly, saved the industry. I can’t think of anyone who deserves this honor more. “

Previous Ken Mason Award winners have been John Allen, Wendy Aylesworth, Kurt Belmer, Susie Beyersdorf, Mark Christiansen, John Fitian, Sid Gunnis, Jack Klein, Ken Mason, Barry Reardan, Al Shapiro and Bad Stowe.

Jackie Brenneman and NATO’s Esther Baruch to receive Ken Mason 2022 Inter-Community Award

Source link Jackie Brenneman and NATO’s Esther Baruch to receive Ken Mason 2022 Inter-Community Award

Related Articles

Back to top button